When life throws you lemons …

Two days ago we found out we have to leave our current property – we have until April 29th to move out.

We don’t own but rent and, as tenants, we  were assured when we moved in that this wouldn’t happen – that our landlady wouldn’t be kicking us out any time soon. But after 15 months of loving this home, loving this town, she wants to move back in and we’re (not so theoretically speaking) left out in the cold.

It’s too much of an understatement to say that we’re shocked. Not only do we have 2 months to find a new property and pack our lives up into cardboard, but we have to also, somehow, raise the money to move (primarily for the bond (a security deposit a tenant pays at the start of a tenancy which is paid back to the tenant at the end of the tenancy provided no money is owed to the lessor/agent for rent, damages or other costs)). It’s safe to say that we don’t have a cat in hell’s chance. Or maybe we do. I’m currently in pessimistic mode so excuse my grumpiness. In these last few tear-filled days I’ve pretty much swung from “everything will be all right – something better’s just around the corner” to “Argh!! How the heck are we going to do this?! *sob snuffle sob*

It’s safe to say that I don’t really know what to do at the moment except pray and hope and start packing.

In other news …

Instead of wallowing and taking all of this stress out on our boys, this morning we played games and I ignored the sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach. There’s nothing quite like my boys laughter to make me see the brightness of things.

One thing you learn when you have children is the art of repeating yourself. All of the time. And so thanks to Pinterest (athankye!) and this lovely post from the Blog “A Mommy’s Adventure’s” (http://www.amommysadventures.com/2010/05/listening-and-following-directions-can.html) we had some fun listening to and following instructions. We took it a little further and introduced colours to the shapes and, as we progressed, different kinds of objects and eventually maths (simple addition.) It was great! The boys loved it, especially Noah.

photo (16)

photo (14)

Babu’s still at an age where colours and shapes and listening to mummy don’t really register yet, so he did a few and then disappeared to try and open up my paints.

photo (17)

It’s amazing how we treat our children sometimes – like they’re still little babies who don’t understand much. But they are so intelligent (something we tell our boys constantly) and so lovely. It’s just such a joy to be able to spend my days with them. And right now I need joy.

It’s also strange to think that we consider educating our children such hard work, when (at least at this age) all they really need is games (there’s so much to be learned through play!), music (fun and interesting and a great way to develop our little ones speech and vocabulary), lots of movement (it’s amazing the correlation between movement and the brains development), imaginative play time (get those creative juices flowing!), nature (what a ‘curriculum’ to learn from!), arty things (fine motor skill development!) and Domestic arts (children love imitating us adults and so the chance to raise their level of capability in these areas is a great opportunity, and most of us don’t realise just how capable our little ones are!) And who (if the opportunity is available to them) can’t do that? Home-schooling, as you can probably tell, is something we’re every interested in.

As well as all of this and finishing off my novel, I’m trying to psyche myself up to take part in the third annual NaNoWriMo Pitchapalooza. This is where you try to pitch your book in just 250 words and the winner (out of a final 25) will be introduced to an agent or publisher appropriate for their manuscript. I’ve never done anything like this before. It’s like trying to get Babu to write his name – frustrating and confusing and exciting. Ultimately I have to go into this with the right attitude; what do I have to lose? Nothing. What do I have to gain? Everything! Again that old fear of failure plagues me, as it does a lot of us. Now I have to force myself to remember – this is a great opportunity. I’m a good writer (I think). I really do have nothing to lose.

So, between the mad packing, house hunting, game playing, food making, soul searching and arm wrestling (don’t ask) I’m going to find time for this.

I have until February 28th – wish me luck!?

Leave a Reply

