Today is the start …

… of a very crazy month. A few weeks back I did something a little insane, and what’s even insaner (not a real word – I don’t care) is that I managed to convince people to do it with me.

Now, I have every confidence in these guys – they’ll do a fab job – and part of me is hopeful for myself too. But I’ve also been looking at this task and all the other things I’ve got on this month and all I can think is – how am I ever going to do this?

Have you guessed what it is yet?? I’ll give you a few clues;

I’m an aspiring author.
50,000.
November.
30 days.
1,666 a day.

That right folks – I signed up for NaNoWriMo.

For those who don’t know, that’s National Novel Writing Month. Myself, and goodness knows how many others, are taking part in the mammoth challenge of writing a 50,000 word novel in just 30 days.

Here’s the link for you to check it out for yourself; http://www.nanowrimo.org/

This will be my view for the next month;

Luckily my boys aren’t old enough to understand just how insane their mother is right now, or my incessant typing away at the computer for the last two weeks has been my somewhat terrified attempt at planning something to write!

I worried about telling Ash. I thought he was going to voice all my doubts and insecurities that I dare not say out loud – how on earth will you do this? We’ve got two boys; where will you get the time? Are you mental, you’re stressed enough as it is?!

But no – he’s been AMAZING! So encouraging, so loving, so supportive. Good husband. Lovely husband.

A few people have laughed and told me not to do it. I few have just stood staring at me with their mouthes open – part of me wants to shove things in there. People have asked if I’m going to give up my ‘no goodies’ stint so I can treat myself as I go along, to at least get some incentive to soldier on through rough days. Nope. (Currently on day 54 by the way – can I get a whoop whoop? No? Ok. *cough*)

So, be prepared – if you see me with candy floss, Medusa-like hair, if I smell, if I’m crying, if I’m screaming, if I’m hunched over in shoulder agony, if my hands are stuck in claw-like shapes, if my eyes have a wild look about them, and I’m white as a ghost and jump at the sound of something clicking like the sound of keys on a keyboard, you know I’m on the verge of creating a masterpiece – maybe …

Are you taking part?? Let me know and we’ll go nuts together!

Leave a Reply

