The Geminio Curse

I just made the most remarkable discovery.

Now, I don’t know if it’s some Harry Potter Geminio curse thing, or like Jesus and the whole loaves and fishes deal, but my children – get this – can multiply things. And by things, I mean toys.

It is amazing. We have a three-tier set of drawers in our living room that houses all the odd bits and bobs the boys have; small creature-like toys, bugs (which creep me out – Noah hides them in places and when I find them I squeal which he seems to find amusing), mazes, rattles, blocks, towers, cars, trains, teethers, even a guitar – you name it, they’re in there.

I can get them all to fit in perfectly. (It’s sort of a weird thing of mine, that if you do it, you’re doing it wrong. I won’t tell you of course, but 9 times out of 10, once you’ve tidied it (when you’ve left) I’ll reorganise it.)

I love tidying them. It’s like a strange OCD thing I’ve got going on. I line all the blocks up, laying them down carefully in neat little rows. I make sure the cars, trains, buses (any form of vehicular toy, really) are parallel to each other, even if one is on top of the other.

They all have their designated spots too. Top is; animals, characters, building materials, i.e. blocks. The middle is miscellaneous stuff (AKA that guitar I mentioned earlier) and the bottom houses all the vehicles.

You’re probably wondering where I’m going with this?

Well, this evening, after the boys went to bed, I did my ritual tidying up of downstairs, putting all their toys away, food stuffs, sweeping, when I realised – I can only just shut the drawers. They are literally packed as tight as can be, like a suitcase on your return trip from your holidays. I do it the same every time, which means there can be only one explanation – they’re multiplying. We’re being taken over with toys. I don’t understand how this has happened. Babu recently moved into share Noah’s room, yet the room he’s just vacated is already packed with toys.

What I want to know is, can we harness this power for other means? Petrol, for instance. Chocolatey treats. Clothing. Money. Or what about bigger? Cars. Houses. Children. Wait, scratch that last one.

In every nook and cranny of my living room, you will find a toy. The outhouse, garden shed and Wendy house are all full. Their bedroom is full. I found some in our room. They’re even taking over the study.

All I can think is, beware kitchen. They’re coming for you next.

3 responses

  1. How funny…….”…they’re multiplying! We’re being taken over by toys”……. how right you are….Also like that you’re scratching more children off your list…you know you don’t have room for more…you must keep some space free for future toy multiplications!

Leave a Reply

