Say it nice

On the bus home from town today (that’s the third bus we caught as the first wouldn’t let me on with the pushchair, and the second broke down), a woman said that I was a great mother.

She’d watched me for around ten minutes and had played with the boys intermittently, distracting them from the sweltering heat.

That’s right folks, a scorcher of a day and the bus heating was on. I literally felt sick. Tobias and Noah had their shoes removed, and they both downed two cups of juice within the first twenty minutes.

I said thank you. I didn’t know what else to say; “thanks, you’re a great old woman”. That would have been rude. And weird.

But it was really nice to hear. On a pretty horrendous journey (which took one and a half hours instead of the expected twenty minutes) my day was considerably brightened. The rest of my day was led with a spring in my step.

A nice word really does go a long way.

Leave a Reply

